Dholera Transaction Cost Record

Edition 2026-08-04 / dholerasir.estate

What a land transfer inside the Dholera Special Investment Region costs to complete, worked out line by line from the government's own published rates.

Village record 16 / dhandhuka block

Transaction cost, Zankhi

Buying one acre of unirrigated farmland in Zankhi costs Rs. 25,071 in government charges on top of whatever you pay the seller. This page shows exactly how that figure is built.

The charge is Rs. 20,822 of stamp duty at 4.9 per cent plus Rs. 4,249 of registration fee at 1 per cent, both taken on a government valuation of Rs. 4,24,930 for the acre. That valuation is not the market price. It is the rate the state's own price list, the jantri, sets for the kind of land that covers most of this village. Zankhi has 18 different published farmland rates in all and they are all listed below, because which one applies to a particular plot depends on where the plot sits.

Village 16 of the Dhandhuka blockSIR notification 22 May 2009Valuation base ASR 2011Last verified: 4 August 2026

01The arithmetic

Total government charge, one acreRs. 25,071That is 5.9 per cent of the government valuation, made up of the 4.9 per cent stamp duty and the 1 per cent registration fee. The rate used covers 30 survey numbers across 1 printed rows, more of Zankhi than any other rate in the book.

Every line below can be checked against the printed rate book. The only two inputs are the government rate and the size of the parcel; the rest is multiplication.

Worked column, Zankhi, one acre, ASR 2011 source AHMEDABAD-AGRI.pdf p.626
Line itemInputRateAmount Rs.
01Jantri rate, ASR 2011Non-irrigated (Bin-Piyat) agricultural land4,24,930
02Road situation of the bandGeneralas printed
03Parcel taken1 acre, illustrativex 14,24,930
04Valuation base4,24,930 x 1 acre=4,24,930
05Stamp duty, Article 20(a)on 4,24,9304.9%20,822
06Registration fee, Article 20(a)on 4,24,9301%4,249
Total statutory charge at registration=25,071

Figures are rounded to the nearest rupee for display. The unrounded values are in the JSON and CSV on the data page. The department's own rounding rule is not stated in any source examined.

02Farmland rates, cost on one acre

Every farmland rate the government publishes for Zankhi, with the charge worked out on one acre of each. Which one applies to a particular plot depends on whether the land is irrigated and what kind of road it sits on, so a plot on a highway is valued higher than the same land inland.

Source: AHMEDABAD-AGRI.pdf pages 626 to 626, ASR 2011 Final, taluka DHANDHUKA as printed. Rate in force from 18 April 2011. Data class OFFICIAL for the rates, COMPUTED for the last four columns. Road situation is abbreviated in this table. The rate book prints the three classes as General, On District Main / Other District Road, and On National / State Highway, shown here as General, District road and Highway.
BandLand classRoad situationJantri Rs./acreRs./sq mSurvey nos.Valuation base Rs.Stamp duty 4.9% Rs.Registration 1% Rs.Total Rs.ASR source
01Non-irrigatedGeneral4,65,39011534,65,39022,8044,65427,458p.626
02Non-irrigatedGeneral4,57,30011384,57,30022,4084,57326,981p.626
03Non-irrigatedGeneral4,45,160110214,45,16021,8134,45226,264p.626
04Non-irrigatedGeneral4,41,11010964,41,11021,6144,41126,025p.626
05Non-irrigatedGeneral4,37,070108104,37,07021,4164,37125,787p.626
06Non-irrigatedGeneral4,33,020107164,33,02021,2184,33025,548p.626
07Non-irrigatedGeneral4,28,97010674,28,97021,0204,29025,309p.626
08Non-irrigatedGeneral4,24,930105304,24,93020,8224,24925,071p.626
09Non-irrigatedGeneral4,16,83010324,16,83020,4254,16824,593p.626
10Non-irrigatedGeneral4,12,78010274,12,78020,2264,12824,354p.626
11Non-irrigatedGeneral4,04,69010024,04,69019,8304,04723,877p.626
12Non-irrigatedGeneral3,43,9908553,43,99016,8563,44020,295p.626
13Non-irrigatedGeneral3,31,8508213,31,85016,2613,31819,579p.626
14Non-irrigatedGeneral3,27,8008153,27,80016,0623,27819,340p.626
15Non-irrigatedGeneral3,23,7508053,23,75015,8643,23819,101p.626
16Non-irrigatedGeneral2,63,0506512,63,05012,8892,63015,520p.626
17Non-irrigatedGeneral2,42,8206032,42,82011,8982,42814,326p.626
18Non-irrigatedGeneral2,02,3505012,02,3509,9152,02411,939p.626

03Built-land and gamtal rates, cost on 1,000 sq m

Rates for land in Zankhi that is not farmland, with the charge worked out on a 1,000 sq m plot of each. Gamtal means the old built-up core of the village, the houses and lanes rather than the fields, and it carries its own rate.

Source: AHMEDABAD-NA.pdf page 305, printed as ZANKHI under taluka DHANDHUKA. Rate in force from 18 April 2011. Road situation is abbreviated in this table. The rate book prints the three classes as General, On District Main / Other District Road, and On National / State Highway, shown here as General, District road and Highway.
BandLand classRoad zoneJantri Rs./sq mValuation base Rs.Stamp duty 4.9% Rs.Registration 1% Rs.Total Rs.ASR source
01Gamtal Residentialnot stated2002,00,0009,8002,00011,800p.305
02Gamtal Commercialnot stated2602,60,00012,7402,60015,340p.305

The non-agricultural rate table on this village's page is blank in the source. Only the gamtal, that is village site, rates are printed. No non-agricultural rate is available for Zankhi and none was inferred from a neighbour.

04The village as the register holds it

Gazette spelling, 2009
Zankhi
DSIRDA map spelling
Zankhi
Census 2011 spelling
Zankhi
Census 2011 village code
511940
Taluka at notification
Dhandhuka
Schedule serial number
16
Survey numbers in the Schedule
389
Area in the Schedule
22.0941 sq km
Town planning schemes
none recorded in the available maps
Activation Area
Not a part village of the Activation Area

Source: The Gujarat Government Gazette, Vol. L No. 23, 4 June 2009, Part IV-B, printed pages 40 and 41, Industries and Mines Department notification GHU-14/SIR/112009/253/(1)/I dated 22 May 2009. Data class OFFICIAL. Census codes are 2011 codes and are not current Local Government Directory codes.

05What cannot be worked out for this village

The figure at the top of this page is not the whole cost of owning land here. Four further charges fall on a purchase and the government has never printed an amount for any of them, so they cannot honestly be added.

  • Mutation, the ferfar entry in the Record of Rights after purchase. Sections 135C and 135D of the Gujarat Land Revenue Code 1879 set the procedure and the three month and thirty day periods, and prescribe no fee. No official fee published.
  • Non-agricultural conversion under section 65. The 2008 resolution fixes the procedure and a Rs. 3 court fee stamp on the form. The conversion tax, the non-agricultural assessment and the land measurement fee carry no amount. No official fee published.
  • Premium on new tenure land under section 43 of the Tenancy Act. Fixed case by case by the Collector. No rate published.
  • Property tax inside the SIR. Section 29 of the Gujarat Special Investment Region Act 2009 makes the region a deemed industrial township and lets the development authority act as the taxing authority. No rate, formula, due date or payment portal was found on any government source. No official fee published.

The full charge register lists all thirty five steps with the gap marked on each one, and what is not public explains why these gaps exist.

The words on this page, in plain English

Jantri
The government's own price list for land. It is printed village by village and it sets the value the tax is charged on, whatever price the buyer and seller agree between themselves.
Survey number
The number the revenue record uses to identify one piece of land, the way a house has a street number.
Rate band
One printed line in the jantri: a class of land, a road situation and one rate. A village usually has several, and which one applies depends on where the plot sits.
Principal band
The band the rate book applies to more survey numbers than any other in that village. It is the most representative rate, not an average and not a market price.
Gamtal
The old built-up core of a village, the houses and lanes rather than the fields around them. It carries its own rate in the jantri.